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Chapter 7: LICENSES 
 

Purpose Of These Requirements 
Child care arrangements that meet the definition of child care are required to be licensed by the 
Division of Child Development.  The purpose of child care licensing is to ensure the safety and 
developmental well-being of children while in out-of-home care.  Child care regulations reduce 
the risk of predictable harm to children while in child care.  In addition, regulations provide basic 
consumer protection.  Potential operators must comply with established child care rules prior to 
the issuance of a license.   

 

Definitions 
Child care:  is defined as a program or arrangement where three or more children less than 13 
years old, who do not reside where the care is provided, receive care on a regular basis of at least 
once per week for more than 4 hours but less than 24 hours per day from persons other than their 
guardians or full-time custodians, or from persons not related to them by birth, marriage, or 
adoption.   
 
Child Care Facility: Includes child care centers, family child care homes, and any other kind of 
arrangement not excluded by GS 110-86(2), that provides child care, regardless of the time of 
day, wherever operated, and whether or not operated for profit. 
 
Family Child Care Home: is a child care arrangement located in a residence where, at anyone 
time, more than two children, but less than nine children, receive child care.  
 
Licensee:  means the person or entity that is granted permission by the State of North Carolina to 
operate a child care facility.   
 
Article 7, Chapter 110 of the North Carolina General Statutes allows the Department of 
Health and  Human Services to issue the following types of permits: 
 

For Child Care Centers 
 
License: a permit issued by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to 
any child care facility that meets the statutory standards.   
 

For Religious Sponsored Programs 
 

Notice of Compliance: a permit issued by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human 
Services to a religious sponsored child care facility opting to take certain exemptions from the 
child care rules but in compliance with all health and safety standards not exempted by law. 
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SECTION 1: TYPES OF LICENSES 
 

Types of Licenses  
NC General Statutes 110-88 & 110-90 

 The Division has the authority to issue the following types of licenses to family child care 
homes: 
 Temporary 
 Notice of Compliance 
 Star-Rated  
 Provisional 
 Special Provisional 
 Probationary 

 
  
 

Temporary Licenses 
Child Care Rule .0403 

 A temporary license may be issued to the operator of a family child care home when a 
change of location occurs.  This type of license is effective for 60 days.  

 The operator must apply for a license prior to the location change and must have sufficient 
equipment and materials to operate for the number of children enrolled.   

 The temporary license must be posted in a prominent place in the program that parents are 
able to view daily. 

 
 

Notice of Compliance 
NC General Statute 110-106 

 Religious sponsored child care programs (those operated by a church, synagogue, or school 
of religious charter) may receive a Notice of Compliance. 

 

 North Carolina General Statute 110-106 allows religious 
sponsored child care programs the option of being issued a 
license or a Notice of Compliance.   

 If a religious-sponsored child care program elects to comply 
with all of the child care licensing requirements, they will be 
issued a license. 

 If the program elects to take exemptions allowed by GS 110-
106, they will be issued a “Notice of Compliance.” 
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Star Rated License 
NC General Statute 110-90 

 A star rated license is issued to a child care facility that meets standards established in child 
care law and rules. The rating is based on program standards and education levels of staff.   

 
 

 A One Star Rated License indicates the child care operator 
meets minimum child care requirements and can be issued 
after being in operation for a minimum of six months.   

 A Two through Five Star Rated License is issued to child 
care operators who voluntarily meet enhanced standards of 
child care requirements and has been in operation for a 
minimum of six months.   

 New operators wishing to be eligible for a Two through Five 
Star Rated License should begin preparing for this from the 
time they open and let the consultant know during initial 
assessment visits to the program.    

 The consultant will help the operator prepare to meet any 
voluntary enhanced standards necessary for the level license 
they wish to achieve.  Refer to Chapter 6 – Star Rated 
License for specific requirements. 

  
Provisional Licenses 

Child Care Rule .0401 

 A Provisional License is a permit that may be issued for up to one year to child care 
providers who fail to meet minimum licensing requirements.  

 

 

 This license is issued if the Division determines that the 
applicant is making a reasonable effort to conform to the 
requirements but has yet to achieve full compliance. 

 Provided that a situation is not hazardous to children, a 
provisional license can be issued in the following situations: 
 To allow a specific time period for the FCCH to comply 

fully with all licensing requirements and to demonstrate 
that compliance will be maintained, provided that 
conditions at the FCCH are not hazardous to the health or 
safety of the children or staff. 

 To allow time for the applicant or licensee to request a 
declaratory ruling when they do not agree with a violation 
cited or decision made by the Division. 
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 As an administrative action for substantiation of child 
abuse or neglect. 

 As an administrative action for not maintaining a 
compliance history score of at least 75%, for the past 18 
months or during the length of time the facility has 
operated.   

 The provisional license and the document describing the 
reasons for its issuance must be posted in a prominent place 
in the facility where parents can view it daily. 

 Written notification of the provisional license must be given 
to all parents of children currently enrolled and copies of 
documentation must be maintained on-site in a binder 
accessible to parents.   

 If an operator appeals the provisional license, the license 
does not have to be posted however written notification must 
be completed and distributed as stated above.   

 See Chapter 9 – Administrative Actions for more information 
on Provisional Licenses. 

 
Special Provisional Licenses 

Child Care Rule .1904  

 A Special Provisional License is a permit that may be issued for up to six months to child 
care providers when it is determined that child abuse or neglect has occurred in a facility.  

 

 

 The special provisional license and the reasons for its issuance 
must be posted in a prominent place in the facility.  

 The special provisional license and reasons for issuance must 
remain posted for the entire time period covered by the 
license, and also during the time of any administrative 
proceedings. 

 In some circumstances, no new children may be enrolled in the 
facility until the Division is satisfied that the abusive or 
neglectful situation no longer exists and gives the operator 
written permission to accept new children. 

 Written notification of the special provisional license must be 
given to all parents of children currently enrolled and copies of 
documentation must be maintained on-site in a binder 
accessible to parents.   

 See Chapter 9 – Administrative Actions for more information 
on Special Provisional Licenses. 
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Probationary Licenses 
Child Care Rule .2204 

 A Probationary License is a permit that may be issued for up to one year to child care 
providers when it is determined that a violation of the child care law or rules has been 
willful, continual or hazardous to the health and safety of children.  

  

 

 The notice describing the reasons for the issuance of the 
probationary license will describe the specific section of the 
child care law or rules violated and will specify the length of 
the probationary license period.   

 The probationary license and the notice describing the 
reasons for its issuance must be posted in a prominent place 
in the facility.  

 Failure of the licensee to comply with the terms of probation 
may result in the start of proceedings to suspend or revoke 
the license. 

 The probationary license and reasons for issuance must 
remain posted for the entire period covered by the license, 
and also during the time of any administrative proceedings. 

 Written notification of the probationary license must be given 
to all parents of children currently enrolled and copies of 
documentation must be maintained on-site in a binder 
accessible to parents.   

 See Chapter 9 – Administrative Actions for more information 
on Probationary Licenses. 

 
SECTION 2: STATUS CHANGE 

A status change is an event that requires the issuance of a new license. 
 

Change of Location of a Family Child Care Home  
Child Care Rule .0204 

 When a licensed child care operator moves from one location to another, the operator must 
apply for a license for the new location.   

 The operator must notify the Division 30 days prior to the change of location. 

 The operator must obtain the new license prior to occupying the new location. 
 

 

 The operator must complete a new application packet.  First, 
the Facility Profile form must be completed and sent to the 
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child care consultant.  Additional forms will need to be 
completed later in the process and will be supplied by the 
child care consultant.   

 New building, fire and sanitation inspections must be 
completed for the new location prior to the issuance of a 
Temporary License, if applicable. 

 The operator may not care for children in the new location 
until a license is received. 

 
 
 

Adding or Removing Restrictions from a License 
Child Care Rule .0204 

 A change in restriction can occur in two situations: 
1. to add a new restriction 
2. to remove an existing restriction 

 
 
 

 A restriction on a license limits the type of care that can be 
given at a FCCH. 

 When the operator conforms to a requirement previously 
found out of compliance, a restriction can be removed.  
Likewise, if an operator fails to conform to a requirement, a 
restriction can be added to the license. 

 Restrictions on the number or age of children may be 
required by building code, fire code, local zoning 
requirements, sanitation requirements, or some combination 
of these. 

 The addition or removal of a restriction is not effective until a 
new license has been issued reflecting the change. 

 

Reissuing a Current License 
Child Care Rule .0204 

 Certain situations may require that a license be reissued to reflect current information about 
the operator or center. 

 

 

 In certain circumstances, the name of the center or the owner 
may change.  If an operator’s name changes, such as due to 
marriage, a new license needs to be issued to reflect the name 
change.   
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 In some areas, street names may change or cities may switch 
from using route and box numbers to street number and 
name.  A new license would need to be issued to reflect the 
current location address of the facility. 

 If the operator wishes to change the name under which the 
child care facility does business, a new license can be issued 
to reflect the new name.   

 The reissuance of a license is not effective until all reports 
have been reviewed and the child care facility has received a 
new license from the Division. 

 All requests for the reissuance of a license must include a 
new Application - Facility Profile form to be completed. 

 
SECTION 3: COMPLIANCE HISTORY 

 
Compliance History 

General Statute 110-90 & Child Care Rule .0304 

 To maintain a license or Notice of Compliance, a child care facility must have a compliance 
history of at least 75% for the past 18 months or during the length of time the facility has 
operated.   

 A provisional license or provisional Notice of Compliance or other administrative action 
may be issued when a facility fails to maintain a compliance history of at least 75%.   

 

 

 All facilities will have a compliance history score generated 
prior to the issuance of a One to Five Star Rated License. 

 The Division will assess the compliance history of a facility 
by evaluating compliance with the child care requirements 
for the past 18 months, or during the length of time the 
facility has been operating.  

 Points are assigned for the occurrence of specific violations.  
The point value is based on the potential threat to the health 
and safety of children.  

A sample Compliance History Assessment sheet used to 
calculate the compliance history percentage is located in the 
resource section.  The compliance score sheet show 
compliance points earned.  Possible points earned will vary 
dependent upon the child care requirements monitored during 
visits.   
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 For information on compliance monitoring see Chapter 8 

– Compliance Monitoring. 

 Points are assigned for each occurrence of violations of the 
following requirements: 
 supervision of children (6 points) 
 capacity (6 points) 
 program records (1-3 points) 
 health and safety practices (3-6 points) 
 discipline (6 points) 
 nutrition and feeding practices(1-3 points) 
 staff qualifications and training    (2-5 points) 
 transportation, if applicable (1-3 points)  
 developmentally appropriate activities  (2-4 points) 
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  Resource Section 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chapter 7:  
LICENSES 

 
The following pages contain resource materials related to the 

content in the preceding chapter. 
 
 
 
Some of the resources are forms created by the Division of Child Development and 
must be used by licensed child care centers.  Other materials are provided as a 
resource only for child care centers and can be used at the discretion of the center. 
 
 
Center operators may also wish to use this section to add any additional resource 
materials they have that are related to the chapter or information that is specific to 
their child care center. 



Compliance History Assessment 18 Months

Name: ABC Child Care
ID#12345678

Required Components
Lic. 

Points
4/7/2010 10/3/2010

Type of Visit A/C Full Rtd Lic
Supervision 

A1. Supervision 6 6 6

Capacity 
B1. Capacity 6 6 6

Staff Qualifications and Training
C1. Operator Qualifications 5 5 5
C2. Additional Staff Qualification 5 5 5
C3. Inservice Training Hrs 2 2 2
C4. CPR and/or ITS SIDS Training 3 3 3
C5. First Aid 2 2 2
C6. CRC Completed 2 2 2

Health
3 3 3
4 4 4
2 2 2

Safety
E1. Storage of Hazardous Substances -  5 0 5
E2. Storage of Medication -                      5 5 5
E3. General Safety - 3 0 3
E4. Equipment -                                 4 4 0

Program
6 6 6
3 3 3

F3. Adequate/ Approved Space -                                    6 6 6
F4. Nutrition/Infant Feeding  -                                              2 2 2

2 2 2

Management
G1. Staff Records -                                      1 1 1
G2. Children's Records -                              1 1 1
G3. Program Records 1 1 1
G4. License Posted 2 2 2

Fire/Building
3 3 3
3 3 3
3 3 3

Transportation
3 3

I3. Airbags - 3 3
I4.State and Federal Laws for Transporting Passengers            2 2

1 1 1
I6. General Transportation Safety 1 1

Total Points 92/100 87/91
Percentage 92% 96%

Center Assigned To ABConsultant 94%

H2. Building Code Requirements
H3. Sanitation

I2. Seat Restraints for Children

I5. Emergency Information -                         

Compliance Percentage (179/191)

Visit Date

F1. Discipline -                                     
F2. Age Approp Activities- 

F5. General Licensing Requirements

D1. General Health
D2. Administering of Medication          
D3. Mildly Ill

H1. Fire Safety
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